Healthy Slow Cooker Chicken and Rice Casserole

20130409_183717

I stumbled across the most AMAZING dish the other day when I was trying to figure out what to have for dinner. I knew I wanted to use my slow cooker so dinner would be ready when I got home from work, so I looked in my slow cooker recipe book for inspiration. I found a recipe for chicken and rice casserole, but it wasn’t exactly to my taste as written (and DEFINITELY not healthy enough). So, I used that recipe for inspiration and came up with an entirely new but related dish for my dinner.

Here is what I did:

I cut up two chicken breasts into chunks suitable for a chicken pot pie, then put them in the bottom of my slow cooker on top of a thin layer of olive oil. Then I added some wild rice and hot chicken broth (heating it makes the bouillon cubes dissolve better) on top of the chicken with about ¼ bag of frozen diced onions. I also threw in about some minced garlic, sage, a few shakes of thyme, a few turns of my sea salt grinder, and a few turns of my fresh pepper grinder. I stirred it all up and topped with 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary. On a whim, I also threw in a bit of red wine, but I think next time I will try a dry white wine instead. The wine added a nice depth of flavor, but the red wine didn’t complement the dish as well as a white wine would have, I think.

In recipe form*:

2 chicken breasts, cut into chunks
~3 tbsp. olive oil (or just enough to coat the bottom of your slow cooker)
1 ½ c. wild rice
3 c. low sodium chicken broth
¼ c. dry white wine
1 diced onion (frozen is fine too)
2 tsp. minced garlic
1 tsp. dried sage
½ tsp. thyme
2 sprigs fresh rosemary
Freshly ground sea salt and pepper, to taste

Coat the bottom of your slow cooker with the olive oil. Add the rest of the ingredients, except rosemary, to slow cooker and stir. Top with rosemary. Cook on low for 4 hours. Prior to serving, remove lid and let sit for 15 minutes. Garnish with a sprig of rosemary or sprinkle with parsley, if desired.

*I cook using the eyeball method, so the measurements for the spices, garlic, and wine are estimations. You will probably come up with your own measurements based on your personal preference. It’s the joy of cooking, yo.

Leave a Reply

