Pandas and Peacocks and Elephants, Oh My!

So I walked a 5K yesterday morning with a group of friends from church. It was really fun, but also kinda tiring. This morning, my legs are pretty sore, but I’m glad I did it. I’ve been training for weeks to get ready and I have started to enjoy my exercise routine.

The course was through the neighborhood around the zoo with the last leg straight through a back gate of the zoo and out a side gate. It was fun to see the animals, even if I didn’t have time to linger.

20130420_090223-1

I did, however, stop to take a picture of the elephant.

Mile 1 was right after a large hill, so at that point I was thinking “what have I gotten myself into? Ahhh!” By mile 2, the endorphins started to kick in and my legs stopped hurting, so I started walking faster and passing people.

20130420_085525

Oh yeah, you’re in my sights, lady with the stroller!

Mile 3 was somewhere in the zoo, and I was bookin’ it, so I didn’t pay attention to the marker. There were a lot of zoo workers at random points through the zoo part of the course cheering us on, and that was pretty fun.

I made it to the finish line in an hour, which isn’t the best time in the world, but I am still proud of myself for doing my best and working hard to get in better shape.

20130420_090814-1

Afterwards we all went for brunch at a restaurant within walking distance. It took a while to get a table big enough for our group, but oh man that omelet was worth the wait.
image

Who knew pandas and peacocks could be friends? ^_^

So overall, I had a good time walking the 5K, and I want to do it again next year. My goal is to run more of the course next time and do it in under an hour. I will not let asthma beat me!

Leave a Reply

