On God’s Faithfulness and Sovereignty

God has really been teaching me lately about his faithfulness and sovereignty. I thought I would share a few things that I’ve learned.

A lot of terrible things have been happening lately both in my region and in my circle of friends and even personally. Tornadoes, fires, car wrecks, stolen purses, sudden deaths, and more can make it tempting to think God has forgotten about his little family in North Texas. The sorrow is palpable both in my community and in my circle of friends. Many will wonder if God was just not paying attention those days. Maybe he just doesn’t care. Is he even interested in what happens to us?

But I’ve been reading over and over in my quiet times about how faithful God is no matter what and how sovereign he is over all creation. He’s been reminding me over and over that my circumstances may change, but he never does. He is the only thing I can truly count on, the only one I can truly trust. He is the only one who will never ever let me down or forsake me. He sustains me through all of life’s ups and downs. He graciously gives me comfort, peace, and joy no matter my circumstances.

I’d like to share a few verses on God’s faithfulness that have gotten me through some rough times in my own life:

-Isaiah 54:10 – “‘Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,’ says the Lord, who has compassion on you.”
-Psalm 89:2 –  “I will declare that your love stands firm forever, that you established your faithfulness in heaven itself.”
-Psalm 86:15 –  “But you, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.”
-Psalm 33:4-5 –  “For the word of the Lord is right and true; he is faithful in all he does. The Lord loves righteousness and justice; the earth is full of his unfailing love.”
-Hebrews 10:23 –  “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.”

Now why should we put our hope in God? If he really is faithful, can he fulfill his promises? Of course he can! God can be trusted not only because he is faithful, but also because he is sovereign. Nothing happens outside his will. Nothing perplexes him. Nothing surprises him. If he is Lord of all the earth, then he is sovereign over ALL THINGS. Psalm 33:11 says, “The plans of the Lord stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.” None can thwart his plans.

Sometimes we don’t understand why things happen. We may never fully understand. God works in crazy and mysterious ways. Our job is to trust that he knows what he is doing, that he can do it, and that his plan is good and for our good.

If you are going through a tough time like many of my friends and I are, I pray that you will rest on the truth that God is faithful, good, and sovereign, and that he uses all things for the good of those who love him. Please know that he loves you very much and that he has a plan for your life that is good and for your good. Trust in his faithfulness. Lean on his grace. I promise he will not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

