Cheesy Beef Casserole

I made up something completely delicious, and I actually managed to A) remember what I did and B) take pictures. I got the inspiration from shepherd’s pie, but I didn’t have any mashed potatoes and didn’t want to go to the store…so I made something completely different. But sort of related? IDK. It’s delicious.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground beef
2 cups frozen mixed veggies
1 cup wild rice, cooked
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 cup dry red wine
2 small sprigs fresh rosemary
1 tsp Worsteshire sauce
1/2 tsp paprika
1-2 tsp KC Masterpiece Steak seasoning
1 1/2 cup beef broth
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 package Daiya mozzarella style shredded cheese
Fresh ground pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Brown the ground beef in a skillet with tall sides with the onion, garlic, spices, and red wine until the meat is cooked and the red wine is reduced.

image

Drain and combine in a large oven safe dish with the rice, broth, coconut milk, and mixed veggies. Sprinkle Daiya shredded cheese on top of the mixture.

image

Bake for 20 minutes. Serve immediately.

The mixture will be runny, but this is normal. I always add more liquid to casseroles when I use rice because the rice absorbs water even after I put it in the fridge. You can substitute about 1/4 cup reserved grease/red wine from when you drained the meat for the broth/coconut milk mixture if you are not planning for leftovers.

I was pleasantly surprised by how well this turned out. I hope you will be too.

Leave a Reply

