An Update, Plus Creamy Poblano Pork Recipe

So at the beginning of the year, I started seeing this new holistic wellness doctor at the advice of several of my friends. See, I have some medical issues that western medicine has been unable to solve for me. I finally got fed up with being told the only way to get healthy was to take pill after pill after pill and went to see someone who would try to solve the root of the problem, not just the symptoms. Enter the allergen elimination diet.

For the past few months I have had to avoid about 25 different foods, drinks, and spices while my body works to heal itself. Apparently I’ve been eating things that my body can’t properly process all my life, and I didn’t know it was affecting my health until I got a blood test saying so. Of course, not all those foods are really hurting me, but I don’t know what the real culprit is because when I eat it, my body mounts an immune response not only to that food, but the other foods I ate with it. So, what started as maybe one or two true food sensitivities ballooned into 25 over a lifetime. Yaaaaaaaay.

With about 25 things I can’t eat anymore, you would imagine my diet to be basically rice and chicken, right?  Nope! It’s amazing what you can do with a little creativity and variety. I’ve had my share of food flops, but once I got into the swing of things, I found I eat just as good, if not better, than when I started this whole thing. The secret is being willing to experiment with new foods and researching alternatives like there’s no tomorrow.

I wanted to share my favorite recipe I’ve come up with so far. Throwing the “cream” in at the end was totally on a whim, but I am so glad I did because I think it took this dish to a whole new level.

Creamy Poblano Pork

4 boneless pork chops
1 1/2 medium onion, diced
1 large poblano pepper, seeded and diced
1/4 cup cashew cream (or sour cream for the people who aren’t allergic to dairy)
Juice of 1 lime
3 tsp paprika
Olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

In a large skillet, saute pork chops in olive oil, 1 tsp paprika, and salt and pepper until done. Remove from pan.

Add onion, poblano, lime, and remaining paprika along with salt and pepper. Saute in olive oil until onion is translucent and poblano is crisp-tender. Add cream, stir, and cook for 1 minute until heated through. If too thick, add a little water to thin out to desired consistency. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary. Spoon over pork and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

